CCLEX launches Dual Citizenship Report

Dual Citizenship Report: European Edition

Admin | Published on 15 Aug 2019

Cc Launches Dual Citizenship Report

Our firm has released a new report entitled ‘The Dual Citizenship Report’. The aim of the report which was meticulously researched by our in-house researchers was to explore the treatment and legal status of dual citizenship in European Countries. To commemorate the official launch of the Dual Citizenship Report, we invited the Hon. Prime Minister of Malta to sign the first copy in print on the 27th September 2017.

The Dual Citizenship Report: European Region

As explained by editor and citizenship law expert Dr Jean-Philippe Chetcuti, “this report aims to offer a clear understanding of the laws and regulations of the different countries, and acts as a reference for individuals looking into attaining dual citizenship.”

To ensure that the report provides a comprehensive legal analysis, we collaborated with various specialist European Immigration law firms that provided information and commentary on the citizenship laws in their respective country.

The report presents all findings and the analysis carried out based on the data which was gathered in a country chapter format and uses various comparison tables which highlight the difference in status between the various countries. The report delves into whether dual citizenship is allowed, prohibited or restricted, and outlines the process of how citizenship is granted and any conditions which may apply for dual citizenship to be permitted. If dual citizenship is not permitted, the report outlines the restrictions which are being imposed and if there are any exceptions present. In this way, the report is able to provide a complete and meticulous analysis.

According to the data collected, the citizenship laws of the different European countries which were studied can be classified using three different categories, namely those which allow, restrict or prohibit dual citizenship.

Our findings show that a staggering majority of European countries allow dual citizenship, including Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

The report also highlights which countries restrict dual citizenship. Our findings show there is a smaller group of countries which generally disallow dual citizenship, but which make exceptions in certain circumstances such as dual citizenship in case of birth or marriage. Countries which fall under the restricted category include Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, the Slovak Republic and Spain.

On the other hand, Estonia, Monaco, Montenegro and the Netherlands completely prohibit dual citizenship under any circumstance. The legislative frameworks these countries which prohibit dual citizenship would only allow an individual to be a citizen of that particular country, thus an individual would need to renounce his or her original citizenship before he or she can become a citizen of one of the aforementioned countries.

Dual Citizenship - Explore your options with ease

To provide a more holistic and interactive experience to our online users, we have launched a new digital platform: which compliments the physical report. 

Read more on:

CCLEX опубликовали доклад о двойном гражданстве

Contact Us
Please send me legal and other updates
Key Contacts

Dr Jean-Philippe Chetcuti

Senior Partner, Tax & Immigration

+356 22056411

Dr Antoine Saliba Haig

Senior Associate, Head of Immigration

+356 22056266